Praise

“Whicker has imagined a fierce future…Dense, dark, haunting.” ―Booklist

“Whicker’s debut sets the stage for a possible series full of bloodlust, court intrigue, and unforgettable characters. For fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven, N.K. Jemisin’s “Broken Earth” series, and George R.R. Martin’s “Song of Ice and Fire” books.” ―Library Journal

“Told in rich, dense prose, Whicker’s fantasy feels like a blood-steeped dream: there are mummified heads and a religion based on astronauts. The story’s voice is vibrant and warm as the Florida heat” ―Publishers Weekly

“In a novel marked with heart-stopping violence, brutal ritual, surreal courtly intrigue, and moments of piercing beauty, Julia Whicker imagines a clash of religions in a broken future. The characters, and their world, are unforgettable.” ―Vivien Shotwell, author of Vienna Nocturne

“Visceral and intense… a fully built-out world, rich with color and detail.” ―Charles Yu, author of How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe

“Wonderblood is a richly imagined, otherworldly tale about the power – and danger – of faith and belief. I loved this book’s beautiful prose and its startling, brutal, and poetic images; I loved its unique premise and masterful worldbuilding; I loved its complicated, passionate, and mesmerizing characters. Julia Whicker is a genius. This is a strange, daring, and masterful first novel.” ―Edan Lepucki, New York Times bestselling author of California

“A richly imagined broken world, one whose land, customs, history, and people are so sharply conveyed that they seem almost to have been incised into the page. I admire Wonderblood for its absorbing and unsettling story, for the uncanny beauty of its prose, but above all else for the daring of its tone, which begins in pitch darkness and brightens not to white but to a more lustrous black.” ― Kevin Brockmeier, New York Times bestselling author

“In fiercely glittering prose Julia Whicker evokes an apocalyptic America where medicine is illegal, everyone is searching for portents and only a severed head can offer protection. I love how richly imagined this novel is and I love how relentlessly it moves towards its amazing climax. Wonderblood is a stunning debut.” ―Margot Livesy, New York Times bestselling author